Baby Names

You spend nearly 9 months thinking about names for your precious child.

  • You go through the name book
  • You create a voting system for you and your partner (that might be just me) – stars out of 5.
  • you get 1 “save” on a name, thus allowing one of your favourites stay in the list, despite the partner disliking it.
  • you check the baby name list so it’s not too popular.  Not in top 100, phew.
  • You agonise for months trying to get an unusual enough name but easy to spell and not too odd.
  • You finally get the name, then you spell it unusually (Scandinavian spelling). You are happy, your child is unique.  Right?  Right?

Well, right up until she starts bleedin’ school and there’s another friggin girl in Reception class with the same name. Same spelling and everfing!  Gah.

Not just that, despite there being 3 classes, they put my daughter and “girl with same name” in the same class and with an M and a N for their first surname initial. For crying out loud. I should have called her Jane.

I think I’m going to have the same problem with my son.  I think naming boys are harder for various reasons.  Boys names just don’t do it for me. I don’t know what it is.  It might be to do with having lots of girl dolls, girl friends and just generally thinking of girls names a bit more, but sitting down to think up boys names seemed like I was searching for the one I disliked the least.  Eventually we happened upon one, I really really liked.  Unusual.  It was a character in a top US series, but I knew that would be long gone when he’s older and it wouldn’t matter.  It starts with a “D”.

I have since discovered no less than 4 of the people I follow on Twitter have sons with “D”‘s name.  I didn’t imagine that would ever happen.  Thought he might bump into 1 or 2 in his lifetime.  OR a few dogs with the same name, it’s a popular dogs name.  Part of me is impressed you all like the name as much as I do, but part of me is really annoyed at you all for nicking it (some of you may have older children, but that’s not the point).  My child is no longer unique.  I bet when he starts school he’ll be one of 5 “D””s in his class.

The really annoying this is that for my daughter I actually wasn’t that keen on the name we went with.  I wanted to call her “Olivia”, “Isabelle” or “Amelia”.  The only reason I didn’t is because they were all in the top 5 of the name charts.  I bet you that there isn’t a single one of those names in her class.

I could kick myself.

How did you find naming your children?  Do you wish you’d chosen differently, happy with it or are annoyed like me that your name has been stolen?

About freefallinginto40

I am 40 years old. I blog about how I'm coping with my "new" age at www.freefallinginto.com . I'm a married mother to two after years of infertility. I have a 6 year old called Pickle and a 3 year old called The Monster. I work 4 days a week. We are also planning a move to the country! I blog about that at www.ourmovetothecountry.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Children, School and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Baby Names

  1. Mummy Plum says:

    I chose what I thought was a relatively unusual name for son no 1, only to find it”s enjoyed a bit of a resurgence of late. I’m not too bothered though as I don’t think it’ll ever be mainstream. I’m currently pregnant with son no 2, and am having a nightmare finding a name that my husband and I like and agree on, and that goes with son no 1’s name. I agree, boys names are definitely harder. At 30 weeks we still don’t have a name and I’m sorting of losing the will with the whole thing now. Everything would be so much easier if my obstinate Hub would just go with my favourite choice!

  2. @SAHDandproud says:

    Both T and K’s names are very unusual: Tiernan and Keela. Both are Irish Gaelic names and I hope they’ll like them as they get older. I hope they have no problems with them. I’ve only ever met one person who shares my son’s name and one who shares my daughter’s.
    My main issue with is that sometimes others get their names wrong, or look at me like I’ve said them wrong.. “Really?” I get that a lot. But the meanings behind the names suit them both, ‘Fair Lord’ and ‘Poetic Beauty’ and so we hope we made the right decisions.
    Great post.

    • They are beautiful names. My two have Irish middle names as Hubby is half irish. Wish I’d used them as first names now but was worried they would be mispelt and mis said. Much better to be unusual though. I know that now.

  3. allotmentmum says:

    I have a Jonas (never met another) and a Daisy (in most primary schools in the country!) and now trying to decide a name for number 3 …… not easy, especially when dual nationality but I’m not keen on many Italian names (although that may just be because I’m not keen on the mother in law!)

  4. I for one think choosing Jane would have been a remarkably good idea! we called our last Libby-Sue – have yet to find her double! z

  5. Suzanne says:

    I remember reading this post first time round and thought I had commented….how strange! I don’t think there is a couple around the country who didn’t have ‘debates’ over the whole naming thing. I know we did! For our first, we thought we had plumped for unusual, Emilia. And to be honest, for about 3 Years, we didn’t meet any others and had to spell it out! More recently, we have come across a child with the same first name and middle name! For the second and third child, we opted for common – Holly and Sam – loads of them about but we liked them!

Leave a Reply

