Boobs and Bellys – What shape am I?

Dressing for my shape.  Ummmm.  What shape am I?

I consume all tv and magazine information to try to work out what shape I am so I can “dress for my shape” but I’m honestly no wiser and I’m not sure there is a shape out there with my name on.

I’m not an apple or pear, I’m not shaped like a triangle or square (I’m not meaning to rhyme, honest).

For a little while I thought I might be “boyish”. So I looked intently at all the things I was supposed to buy for that shape.  I’ve since realised (in my 30’s) that I am definitely not boyish.  I’ve no boobs, but I have wide shoulders and wide hips. I’m slim, although less slim than I used to be and I have a mummy tummy from 2 pregnancies and 2 c-sections.  I’m sure some women would think quite small, but when you barely fit an AA cup, having a stomach that sticks out more than your boobs do, is not a great look. Trust me.

My sister has taken the plunge and had her boobs done. I chose not to.  I was waiting to find out what they looked like post children and then when I finally got there, the thought of going under general anesthetic and having quite a massive procedure which will then render me in capable of looking after them for about 4 weeks just seemed an incredibly selfish thing to do.  But I guess that’s what new boobs are.  I just don’t think I can do it.  Some people (very unhelpful) people make jokes about how I don’t need to wear bras.  “Ha ha, if I was you I wouldn’t wear one, hardly see the point. Ha ha ha”.   STAB.

I’m 40 bloody years old. Small boobs under ANYTHING looks bloody ridiculous. Unless I’m wafting down a catwalk and I’m under 30, then it looks all arty and nice.  Otherwise I looked like an old woman trapped in a pre-pubescent body.  So if it is all the same to you, I’ll get those nice big padded bras from the internet and look small, but normal, thank you very much.

Sorry about that. Rant over.

So, I guess what I’ve picked up in the last few years was something good old Gok said.  Everyone’s aim is hourglass.  Got a big tummy, cinch in with a belt.  Got small shoulders, lots of detail up top.  Small hips……..well, you’ve got the idea.

So I’m trying to buy less shapeless stuff now.  I’m trying to find things that will emphasise my waist, whilst not making my boobs look too small.  I’ve made two purchases in the last 2 weeks.  Both were from Phase 8 (which I know feels like it’s a bit old woman, but hey ho, I’m gravitating towards it) and they did make me feel a little bit shapey, in a good way.

The first one was this.  I got ZILCH compliments on it when I wore it work, so I’m thinking I got it wrong, but I like the detail and the shape and it didn’t make my boobs look small. BONUS.

 

 

 

 

The second dress was just delightful. There is no other word to describe it.  I’ve not worn it yet and I’m just so unsure when I am going to wear it, but it did everything Gok said it would.  The high neckline makes my boobs look ok and the lack of sleeves were great because my arms aren’t too bad at the moment.  The waist cinches in beautifully and right where the mummy tummy should kick in, it flares out hiding EVERYTHING.  The fabric is a bit retro (reminds me of a grandma, but in a really good way).  I won’t do it justice by showing you it off, but here it is anyway.

 

 

 

 

So after 7 months of being 40, I’m taking a smidge of my own advice and trying out clothes I would normally not wear. Not black, not shapeless and definitely not dull.

What’s your shape?  Do you have any rules you follow to look and feel amazing?  Would like to know I’m not the only one struggling with buying clothes.

 

About freefallinginto40

I am 40 years old. I blog about how I'm coping with my "new" age at www.freefallinginto.com . I'm a married mother to two after years of infertility. I have a 6 year old called Pickle and a 3 year old called The Monster. I work 4 days a week. We are also planning a move to the country! I blog about that at www.ourmovetothecountry.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Age, body, Fashion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Boobs and Bellys – What shape am I?

  1. Funny post – I too was at the back of the queue when the boobs were being handed out – GRRR. But I do have wonderful enhancements that make me look like I do have them. That, and some careful dressing helps. Those dresses are perfect – esp the second one. Avril x

  2. Dez Markham says:

    Great blog! Glad to know I’m not the only person who isn’t sure of their body shape. Being 4ft 11ins adds to my challenge. I wear an E cup bra and have a Mummy tummy that departs and returns at will! After years of mistakes I now swear by Gok’s Empire line in dresses – my bust becomes my feature and the dress skims the rest of my body. I also feel that it creates the illusion of height. I tend to go for a variety of lengths dependant on the occasion. With trousers I’ve decided to experiment with high waisted! Sadly, I still seek my daughter’s opinion – I now need to stand on my own feet completely! I love both of your dress shapes!

    • Sounds like you’ve figured it out. Show off the best assets. I’m still learning (and no doubt will continue to do so). Nice to have a daughter for advice though. My 4 yr old is useless. 😉

  3. I can empathise with small boobs, well scratched hives here. After 4 c sections I am blessed with a lovely pouch tummy, euk. Thank heavens for long tops. I just love the second dress, so pretty.

Leave a Reply

