Update on the exercise

I’m without laptop today, so this is being produced on my iPad, whilst sitting scrunched up on the floor of my bedroom. Hopefully it will be readable.

Thought I’d give an update on the previous Brompton post I did here I was musing on the pros and cons of parking for free further away from work an using a fold up bike for the rest of the journey. Having bought the bike about 2 weeks ago I can say……

Wheeeeeeeeeee

I absolutely love it. I did buy a Brompton (at great expense – £810!!) but I got an interest free loan from the bike place and it’ll cost me around £50 a month. Half the cost that a parking space will cost me and I get is very clever bike at the end of it.

I rode it down to the women’s bike race in Twickenham today and due to the rain I also test drove my rain cape (again – it worked brilliantly).

The bike is really sturdy and quite comfortable. I’ll say “quite” as I’ve not really ridden a bike since I was about 17 and those seats take some getting used to. Whilst sitting on this pillow I can feel a small twinge in my backside.

For a bike with small wheels, it goes pretty fast and I overtook much bigger wheeled ones. It was actually quite fun and I’m now really looking forward to using it on my commute the week after next.
I’m still getting to grips with the fold up mechanism though, not quite got it down to 20 seconds but I’m no where near where I was on the first day having to google you tube videos because I didn’t even know how to do the first step (release the handlebars). It would have been quite funny if I hadn’t been so angry about it. 🙂

So there you are. I’m officially one of “those” cyclists who will cause you to slow down and will no doubt have a few fists raised at her.

Wish me luck.

20120729-145208.jpg

About freefallinginto40

I am 40 years old. I blog about how I'm coping with my "new" age at www.freefallinginto.com . I'm a married mother to two after years of infertility. I have a 6 year old called Pickle and a 3 year old called The Monster. I work 4 days a week. We are also planning a move to the country! I blog about that at www.ourmovetothecountry.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Age, body, exercise, Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update on the exercise

  1. pinkchick says:

    Well done you. We have been at Box Hill today watching the cycling and have bben inspired to get out there too.

  2. Pingback: Old | Free Falling into 40

Leave a Reply

