Why Blog? Seriously?

I thought it was about time I put something up to explain myself. Why am I blogging, what’s with the name, why can’t you see my face.  That sort of thing.  I’m going with an analogy.

At the moment I’m at the back of the class in Aerobics.  I’ve signed up to the latest craze of Step.  Incapable and uncoordinated I’m making a bit of a fool of myself.  However, it’s ok because I’m at the BACK of the class.  I’m watching what is going on, building my confidence and hoping at some point in the future I might actually get to creep a little closer to the front (maybe one row?)

But if you don’t get the Aerobic reference (if you aren’t a gal or guy who spent her/his 20’s intermittently attending the latest fad exercise class) then I’ll explain myself a bit better.

I once blogged. Many moons ago but treated it a bit like a diary and an opportunity for friends back in Australia to find out what I was doing in my life. It was great because I used it to let everyone know when I was finally pregnant after years and years of infertility.   I stopped after a while, it was very self-indulgent and even my avid friends were growing weary of the topics.  I’ve now started this blog, anonymously.  A bit controversial I know and I imagine for all the reasons being anonymous is brilliant, there are plenty more that will result in a hindrance for me. I imagine knowing little about me or not being able to see a face will make it less personal somehow, not sure.  However, from my point of view, it will hopefully mean I’m more likely to post risqué topics (when I get my confidence) and not feel I’m compromising my family in the process.

I’m actually a big twitterer.  I have my real name out there and have followed lots and lots of bloggers (accidentally) in the last year.  I thoroughly enjoy reading their posts, commenting, RT’ing.  But having got a good following from doing nothing more than interacting, I felt a bit cheeky to spring a blog on everyone.  I didn’t want anyone to think I had some sort of tactic in mind when I started.  I genuinely didn’t.  So I’m starting from scratch, I’m following different people, different bloggers and seeing where it takes me.

I’m going to need all the help I can get, but I’m learning from the pros.

About freefallinginto40

I am 40 years old. I blog about how I'm coping with my "new" age at www.freefallinginto.com . I'm a married mother to two after years of infertility. I have a 6 year old called Pickle and a 3 year old called The Monster. I work 4 days a week. We are also planning a move to the country! I blog about that at www.ourmovetothecountry.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why Blog? Seriously?

  1. hello! I sometimes wonder if abondoning ship and being annonymous is the way to go because when everyone knows who you are there are plenty of limitations on what you should and shouldn’t write about, but I’m not really that contraversial and often try to eep the peace so for me being open is alright, good luck with this blog tho I’m sure it will be a huge sucess 🙂 x

    • Aww thank you. It’s a tough decision because I love following people I can connect to, who I can see and have similarities to. Who knows, I may climb out fo the closet. 😉 Thanks for the comment.

  2. Tom Baker says:

    As long as you blog and enjoy it, anonymous or real life isn’t what matters. As long as people are aware up front, it’s all good I think.

  3. Welcome to blogging! I’ve been at it a year now and it has become my baby! It is great fun though.

Leave a Reply

