Is 40 the new 40?

Well, it’s always said isn’t it.  40 is the new 20. 60 is the new 40. 30 is the new….. oh for goodness sake!!!

Well in about 2 weeks time I AM 40. Clearly I don’t feel 40. Nobody feels 40 – we all feel 20 (clearly).

But I am an older mum and I’m pretty sure that if I was younger, then all the work that 2 small children bring would be less exhausting and possibly less stressful.

I am in a job I don’t particularly like and I have just completed 6 years of partime study to get a degree in Psychology.  However, if I wasn’t 40 I may have considered going on, doing an MA, doing some work experience in a related field, possibly even doing a PhD.  But I need my salary, I can’t drop down and how much time could I spend in a new career.

It’s also probably too late to start a new sport. Pick up my old tennis training (25 years later), learn volleyball?

So, as I throw stones before me (or related proverb) I should really focus on what I can achieve. So I’m going to spend the next 6 months thinking about it all. Create a new stepping stone to another chapter in my life…….who knows.

Well, that’s enough ruminating. Next post I shall tackle a more meatier subject.  I think until my birthday and birthday party are done I don’t think I can focus on anything else.

About freefallinginto40

I am 40 years old. I blog about how I'm coping with my "new" age at www.freefallinginto.com . I'm a married mother to two after years of infertility. I have a 6 year old called Pickle and a 3 year old called The Monster. I work 4 days a week. We are also planning a move to the country! I blog about that at www.ourmovetothecountry.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Age, Children, exercise, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

