My Changing Wardrobe

One of the nice things about starting blogging, especially a blog about my age, is that I feel a small pressure to get my act together on the clothing front.  I’ve also got into the habit of reading other bloggers, specifically fashion blogs for my age range, and seeing what things might suit me.

I’ve noted that if you have the legs, but don’t want to “get them out” then skinny jeans, jeggings or leggings will do wonders.  Teaming that with a fitted but flowing top and you have a pretty impressive silhouette.

With this is mind I tottered (actually I clomped, I don’t tend to wear stilettos) over the road to where there is a concession in a department store near my work to see what things I could buy from my new favourite clothing shop, Mint Velvet.

I found this beautiful, transparent top and bought it and wore it last week with my River Island, pleather panelled skinny trousers and high ankle boots. What do you think?

Mint Velvet topWhilst trying on the outfit above (which, by the way, needed a black vest underneath as the white one contrasted with the trousers) I took note of how much my wardrobe has changed.

Firstly, I have an awful lot of work tops that don’t embarrass me. They aren’t perfect, but they are pretty nice and I’ve got a lot of choice, so I can go 2 or 3 weeks without wearing the same one.  I’m still wearing dank, dark and uninspiring work trousers.  I’m not sure how to get out of that rut.  I have ditched the matching jackets though. They are upstairs in storage and I wear cardigans.  It’s taken me a while to realise that my very wide shoulders were really enough without a massive jacket on them.

My going out clothes are more numerous.  Not dresses, that is still in need of improvement, but I have jeggings, the tight trousers, some dark blue bootcut jeans and just generally have more choice.  I have some really lovely tops, almost all are from Mint Velvet.   I don’t go out very often, which is the dilemma I have about my casual clothes as well.

My casual clothes for doing the school run, going to ballet, day time visiting and just mooching around are a bit dire.  Some of the going out clothes mentioned above could definitely be worn but then they aren’t special going out clothes anymore are they?  How do you find a balance between mooching and evening drinks?  At the moment I wear either my dark blue skinnies with a stretchy striped long sleeved t-shirt or one of my jeans, either skinny or bootcut and as we’ve had such dire weather any choice of top is covered up under a summer coat.  I can’t keep doing that though can I?  I’m going to have to give this some serious thought.

For the coming season I’m still on the look out for a proper hippy maxi dress for daytime. Not a v neck neckline or a drawstring at the waist. Basically the ones that were about 2 years ago and I forgot to get on the band wagon for.  This will be perfect for my trip to Spain and allow me to cover up my veiny legs.  I’m also looking for some more flats, but in what colour I have no idea.  I have an awful brown pair and an equally awful black pair, but neither of them hurt me and therefore I just keep wearing them.  I have a beautiful nude pair and another leopard print pair that are gorgeous but I’m hobbling by the end of the day, not ideal.  I also need another pair of casual day shoes so a trip to Clarks, who in my opinion, do great casual shoes, may be in order.  I definitely need another dress for work too.  Oh gosh this list is getting longer.

Has your wardrobe changed in the last year?  What’s on your summer “must have” list?  I’d love to know. Mine isn’t exhaustive you know.  ;)

 

About freefallinginto40

I am 40 years old. I blog about how I'm coping with my "new" age at www.freefallinginto.com . I'm a married mother to two after years of infertility. I have a 6 year old called Pickle and a 3 year old called The Monster. I work 4 days a week. We are also planning a move to the country! I blog about that at www.ourmovetothecountry.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Age, body, Fashion, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Changing Wardrobe

  1. All looks and sounds good.

    Re suggestions – shorts! Loving shorts just now and my denim mini skirt. Not really brave (or brown) enough to go bare legged but totally wearing them heaps with sheer leggings or tights / baseball boots / pumps and a nice plain blazer and top or a big slubby jumper. Perfect day time clothes for me and easily jewelleried (sp?!) up for those moments when gin at the pub must suddenly be put on the to do list too… :) Got some amazing cord shorts from Uniqlo for just £12. Score!

  2. Suzanne says:

    Okay so firstly, I love that top! Mint Velvet is also a favourite of mine but a little pricey if not in the sale. I have to purchase an outfit for a wedding but have no idea what to get and I also need a new pair of wedge sandals which I hope are still in (my last pair were bought from Clarks and I loved them but have worn to death). Could you not wear that top out? I think it looks great with those leggings but I agree that it is difficult to find something nice in the summer to wear out – white skinny jeans are good though. Or dresses, which I’m not keen on because my legs are so white! Ibought my first maxi dress from Fat Face the other day – am I brave enough to wear it?!

  3. nortonmum says:

    I can relate to your clothes issue, although my work is more casual now as its at a museum so smart jeans/jeggings are acceptable. I too am on a mission for some summer maxi dresses, I had the perfect one from TK Maxx, why I put it in the CHARITY BAG i’ll never know. It had a vest shape top which is perfect for daytime. Am going back to see if there’s another hanging around waiting for me. Might have a look at Fat Face too as mentioned above.

  4. nortonmum says:

    I’ve just nearly been led astray by the uniqlo shorts mentioned by Heather @betamother. They are gorgeous but I am too old (older than you). Would they be something you could wear?. Orange would look fab with tights in Autumn.

  5. avenue57 says:

    I love Mint Velvet so much!
    I find I’m more daring now as I head towards 40. I am more confident and I know what works well for me.
    I LOVE the leather trousers look

    Fiona

Leave a Reply

